This week, with the holidays slowly but surely drawing to a close, Rover decided it was a perfect time to share a fascinating place to visit not far from Sydney itself. The question was, where to go? Then, I reminded Rover of a place we had visited not long ago with his cousins. Rover loved visiting the Museum of Fire, learning about the fascinating history of the building itself and of course playing on the awesome playground outside! He thought it would be a perfect place to share with all his online friends.
If you would like to visit the Museum Of Fire, it is located in the old Penrith Power Station. The street address is 1 Museum Drive, in Penrith (which is accessed from the corner of Castlereagh Road). Look out for the 1942 Dennis Fire Station mounted up on a pole - it marks the entrance to the museum grounds! Entry to the museum is $12 per adult and $6 per child, with family tickets (and additional children on these family tickets) available.
The Museum Of Fire is located inside a fascinating, if somewhat unexciting looking building which was once a power plant. Yet the history of electricity usage in Penrith actually dates back far further than the building itself! In fact, in early October, 1890, Penrith became the first area on the Sydney region and just the third in the entirety of NSW to actually make use of electricity! Electric lighting was used in approximately 60 houses in Penrith, and of course also along streets and in local businesses and public buildings, including the railway station. The mayoress of Sydney flicked the switch to turn the electricity on on October 3, 1890, and such was the excitement that thousands came to watch. The day itself was even a public holiday!
The early uptake of electricity in Penrith initially nearly ruined Penrith, with an economic depression soon following and the expense of the new electric light adding to the burden. Then, as more people began to move to the Penrith area, increasing power was needed. By the mid 1940s it was clear that Penrith itself needed its own power station. The power plant was built in the early 1950s to service the growing suburbs in the west of Sydney and continued to supply the power needs of the people of Penrith for nearly 20 years. The power station closed in 1970, and the Museum of Fire opened in the premises within a decade. Today, the Museum of Fire has been operating at the site for more than 30 years.